Athletics Hall of Fame to Induct Two New Members

The Trinity Christian College Athletics Department will welcome two new members to its Hall of Fame in an induction ceremony in January. Liz Metcalfe ’83 and Jessica (Eenigenburg) Hoekstra ’06 will be the fourth class added to the Hall of Fame since it was established in 2007 and the first class in six years. The induction ceremony will take place during a luncheon in the DeVos Athletics and Recreation Center at 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, January 24, 2015.

“We are excited to add two new members to the Hall of Fame and look forward to honoring these individuals at the induction ceremony,” said Trinity athletics director Bill Schepel. “Each of the new inductees made a significant mark on Trinity and our athletics program.”

Here is a brief look at each of the 2015 inductees.
Liz Metcalfe ‘83
Liz Metcalfe was a leader as a three-sport student-athlete on the volleyball, basketball, and softball teams from 1979-1983. She was a setter on the volleyball team for four seasons and led the team to two NCCAA district championships and a NCCAA national tournament in 1982. As the starting point guard on the basketball team, she participated in the 1983 NCCAA national tournament. She was also a member of the inaugural softball season in 1983. Metcalfe returned to Trinity to coach the women’s basketball team for five seasons from 2005-2010. She guided the team to a NCCAA national tournament in 2006 and in the 2006-07 season to a CCAC tournament championship and the women’s basketball program’s first-ever NAIA national championship appearance.  Overall she recorded a 61-100 career coaching record.

Jessica (Eenigenburg) Hoekstra ‘06
Jessica (Eeningenburg) Hoekstra was a standout on the women’s soccer and basketball teams from 2002-2006. On the soccer team she was a leading scorer and is currently Trinity’s all-time leading scorer with 115 goals. In the career records she also ranks first in points (272) and in shots (530), and is third in assists (42). In addition she holds single-season records with 42 goals, 106 points, and 181 shots and ranks in the top ten in the NAIA in season goals and points. She was a two-time NAIA All-American, including a 2nd-team selection in 2005, and a four-time all-conference selection with CCAC Player of the Year honors in 2005. In addition she was the NCCAA Player of the Year in 2005. Hoekstra led the team to the program’s and College’s first NCCAA National Championship title and was named MVP of that tournament.

As a four-year starting point guard on the basketball team, Hoekstra currently ranks third in career scoring with 1,998 points.  She also is in the top ten in ten other categories, including first in steals (351) and free throws made (530) and attempted (715) and third in assists (452). She earned NAIA All-America honors three times, including 2nd-team in 2004-05 and 2005-06, and was 1st-team NCCAA All-American three times. She was all-conference four times, the CCAC Freshman of the Year in 2002-03 and the CCAC Player of the Year in 2004-05 and 2005-06. She led the team to NCCAA national tournaments in 2003 and 2006, was named the tournament MVP in 2006, and was named the NCCAA Player of the Year in 2005-06.

Hoekstra earned Trinity’s Women’s Award in 2004-05 and Female Athlete of the Year Award in 2005-06. She was a NAIA and NCCAA Scholar-Athlete.

Tickets for the Hall of Fame luncheon are $5 and can be reserved by calling the Trinity athletics department at 708-239-4779 or by sending an e-mail to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.