Trolls Finish in Fifth at CCAC Championships

The Trolls competed in a field of ten conference schools at the CCAC Championships at Memorial Stadium in Joliet, Illinois. At the end of the two-day meet each the women’s and men’s teams finished in fifth place. The women scored 49.5 points and the men scored 49. In addition the teams had six All-Conference performances, set three new school records, and had three new NCCAA national qualifiers.

The women’s team did well in both track and field events and scored in a variety of events. Sophomore Madelyn Clausen was instrumental in scoring points for the team. She earned All-Conference honors in the high jump with a second place finish. She cleared a height of 5-04.5. She also earned conference honors as a member of the 4 x 100 meter relay team that finished in third place. The team, which also consisted of Muabon Paye, Carissa Wisse, and Olivia Hoekstra, set a new school record at 50.09. In addition, Clausen tied for eighth in the pole vault.

Along with being on the 4 x 100 meter relay team, Olivia Hoekstra was All-Conference in the open 400 meter.  She finished in third place with her personal best at 58.80.  Hoekstra also added points with a sixth place finish in the 200 meter with a time of 26.35 and she was a part of the fifth place 4 x 400 meter relay team. The other members of that relay were Wisse, Valerie Hoekstra, and Allie Boss.

The team also picked up points in the 10,000 meter in which Nicole Syverson finished fourth and Megan DeWeerd was fifth.  In addition to her part in the 4 x 4, Boss was sixth in the 800 meter and sixth in the 4 x 800 meter relay with V. Hoekstra, Annie Rangel, and Brittany Hoekman. Alexis VanRyn took eighth in the 400 meter hurdles. Taylor Yanke placed in two field events with fourth place in the javelin and eighth in the discus.

Although out of the place finishes, Paye had a notable performance in the 100 meter as she ran 13.01 to set a school record and qualify for the NCCAA national meet.

For the men’s team Nick Heidinger became a conference champion when he won the 3000 meter steeplechase. He crossed the line with his season best of 9:51.80.  

Joining Heidinger with All-Conference honors was Caleb DeWeerd who took third place in the 1500 meter. He finished the race with a time of 3:56.88. DeWeerd, along with Ryan Mathes, Andrew Dobrescu, and Brantley VanOverloop, were All-Conference in the 4 x 800 meter relay. The foursome took third place finish with a time of 7:59.82. DeWeerd also scored in the 800 meter with a fourth place finish and in the 4 x 400 meter relay at fourth. The other members of that foursome were Jurrone Petry, Noah Friesen, and VanOverloop.

In addition to his part in the 4 x 4 and 4 x 8, VanOverloop became a NCCAA national qualifier in the javelin with his season best distance of 146-06. He finished in fifth place.

The team also picked up points in the 400 meter hurdles in which Nathan Krygsheld was fifth and Jim Bruinius was sixth. Bruinius also took eighth in the javelin. Those two athletes were also part of the 4 x 100 meter relay team, along with Petry and Colin Stravers, which finished in fifth place. In addition Dobrescu was eighth in the 1500 meter.

Finishing just outside the scoring places, Ross Barz was ninth in the hammer throw with his personal best and a school record distance of 131-00. Petry also missed placing in the 400 meter at tenth, but reached the NCCAA qualifying standards with a time of 51.27.

The next competition will be at the NCCAA National Championships for the national qualifiers on May 8-10 at Grace College in Winona Lake, Indiana.