Trolls Post Positive Results at NCCAA Championships

The women’s and men’s cross country teams had great performances and finishes at the NCCAA National Championship hosted by College of the Ozarks in Point Lookout, Missouri.  Posting the program’s best finishes at this national meet, the women’s team took second place of 10 teams and the men’s team was third of nine schools.  In addition four runners on the women’s side and one on the men’s team earned All-American honors.

The seven runners on the women’s team posted a team best time of the season as they came in second place overall. The Trolls had four runners under the 20 minute mark and in the top 15 to earn All-America status.  Running her best time of the season at 18:45.00 Megan DeWeerd finished in second place overall of the 66 competitors.  Also in the top five was Nicole Syverson who finished in fourth place with a time of 19:15.53.

The other two All-Americans were Hope Fathman and Allie Boss. Fathman was a top 10 runner in ninth place with her season best of 19:40.37. Boss also put forth her best performance as she crossed the line at 19:55.73 and took 13th place.

The next three runners for the Trolls finished in a tight group. Corrie Jacobi was 28th with a time of 21.02.67. Just eight seconds back from her at 21:10.46 was Mikayla VanLaan in 31st place. Annie Rangel finished in 34th place overall at 21:15.71.

The men’s team was in a solid third place and had four runners in the top 25. Finishing 15th and receiving All-American honors was Caleb DeWeerd with an overall time of 27:05.06. Three places back from him was Nick Heidinger in 18th place. He crossed the line with a time of 27:15.35.

Andrew Dobrescu took 20th place overall with his time of 27:23.85. Only a few seconds behind him Brantley VanOverloop ran a 27:30.29. He finished in 22nd place overall.

The final runners for the team were Kyle VanderPlaats who was 27th with a time of 27:53.83. Ryan Mathes took 37th place at 28:36.48 and Cole Akimoff posted a 30:31.59 for 56th place.

The meet concludes the team competition for the year, but Megan DeWeerd and Hope Fathman will compete in the NAIA National Championship on November 16 in Cedar Rapids, Iowa.