Trolls Race in CCAC Championships

As one of the 13 teams in the conference, the Trolls competed for the conference title in the CCAC Championships. The meet was hosted by St. Ambrose University at Crow Creek Park in Bettendorf, Iowa. Trinity’s women’s team ended in fourth place overall with two runners receiving all-conference honors and at least one NAIA national qualifier. The men’s team put together one of their best performances of the season and took fifth overall.

The field for the women’s 5K race consisted of 136 runners. Senior Megan DeWeerd outran all, but two of those competitors to finish in third place overall. She clocked a time of 18:54.7. With that finish she earned All-Conference honors and individually qualified for the national championships.

Senior Hope Fathman also earned All-Conference honors as she took 14th place overall. Her time was 19:46.6. Breaking the 20 minute mark for the first time was freshman Allie Boss with a time of 19:59.2. She was the team’s third runner and finished in 20th place.

Also finishing in the top 25 was Nicole Syverson in 23rd place at 20:08.8. Competing for the first time this season April VanRyn took 33rd place with a 20:37.0 time.

The men’s team put forth their best effort with four of their top five runners posting personal bests for the season. The team’s top runner was Nick Heidinger who logged his best time at 26:43.7. He finished in 21st place overall of the 123 runners.  Just a few seconds back from him was Andrew Dobrescu who recorded his fastest time of the season at 26:56.7. He ended in 25th place overall.

The next three runners for the Trolls were tightly bunched with only 10 seconds separating them. Ryan Mathes finished 31st overall with a season best of 27:10.8. Caleb DeWeerd was 32nd at 27:16.1 and Kyle VanderPlaats was 33rd overall at 27:20.8 which was his best time. Also under 28 minutes was Brantley VanOverloop who took 38th with a time of 27:40.1

The teams will compete next on November 10 in the NCCAA National Championships in Point Lookout, Missouri.