Record Setting Start to Season

It was an impressive start to the 2017 cross country season for the women’s and men’s teams at the University of St. Francis Twilight Invitational at Channahon Park.  The Trolls took home a first place individual finish, had siblings led the teams, and had two record setting performances. Overall the women finished in second place of eight teams and the men took fourth of nine teams.

It was a very strong day for the women who finished in second, only behind the University of Chicago team.  Individually two runners were in the top four and four runners in the top 25 in the field of 89 runners.  Those top two runners also broke the school record. Leading the team was Megan DeWeerd who captured first place. She crossed the line with a time of 17:34.3, which was nearly 30 seconds faster than the old school record time of 18:09. Also running faster than the old record was freshman April Van Ryn with a time of 17:55.4. She took fourth place overall in her first collegiate race.

The next two runners for the team finished under the 20 minute mark. Nicole Syverson posted a 19:24.5 and took 16th place overall. Hope Fathman logged a 19:41.9 for 23rd place. Rounding out the team place finishes was Mikayla VanLaan at 20:53.6 in 35th, Corrie Jacobi at 21:21.9 in 44th, and Indre Dukauskas at 23:09.4 in 62nd.
The men’s team had three runners in the top 20 of a field of 113 and two runners finish with times below the 16 minute mark. In his opening collegiate race freshman Caleb DeWeerd, a brother to Megan, the women’s top finisher, led the team with a 14th place finish. He logged a time of 15:53.0. Only five seconds back from DeWeerd at 15:58.1 was Brantley VanOverloop in 17th place. Nick Heidinger finished in 19th place overall and ran a time of 16:03.2.

The fourth runner for the team was Kyle VanderPlaats, who took 34th place with his 16:29.6 finish, and the fifth spot was claimed by Kevin Courtney, who took 42nd place at 16:47.2. The final place finishers for the team were Nathan Krygsheld in 62nd at 17:48.1 and Noah Wolters in 71st at 18:13.8.

The teams will compete next on September 15 at Lake Forest College.