NAIA Baseball National Championship Opening Round Information

The 45-team field and brackets for the 2018 NAIA Baseball National Championships Opening Round on May 14-17 have been announced.  The Trolls, who earned a national bid as the CCAC Tournament champions, are in the Kingsport Bracket and will play in a five-team double-elimination tournament at Hunter Wright Stadium in Kingsport, Tennessee.  

Trinity is the fifth seed in their bracket and will face No. 4 Clarke University (Iowa) in the first game on May 14 at 11 am EDT. The other teams in the bracket are No. 1 Southeastern University (Florida), No. 2 Tennessee Wesleyan University (Tennessee), and No. 3 Madonna University (Michigan). For Kingsport Bracket Tournament information click here. For more information on the NAIA Opening Round brackets click here. To see the bracket reveal show click here.

The tournament schedule is: (all times are Eastern)
Monday, May 14
Game 1 – No. 4 Clarke vs No. 5 Trinity at 11 am
Game 2 – No. 2 Tennessee Wesleyan vs No. 3 Madonna at 2:30 pm
Game 3 – No. 1 Southeastern vs Winner of Game 1 at 6 pm

Tuesday, May 15
Game 4 – Loser of Game 1 vs Loser of Game 2 at 11 am
Game 5 – Winner of Game 2 vs Winner of Game 3 at 2:30 pm
Game 6 – Winner of Game 4 vs Loser of Game 3 at 6 pm

Wednesday, May 16
Game 7 – Loser of Game 5 vs Winner of Game 6 at 11 am
Game 8 – Winner of Game 5 vs Winner of Game 7 at 2:30 pm – Championship Game

Thursday, May 17
Game 9 – If Necessary Championship Game

The games will be played a Hunter Wright Stadium at 800 Granby Road, Kingsport, Tennessee  37660.  Admission to the tournament is $10 for adults and $5 for students per day or $25 for adults and $12 for students for an All-Tournament Pass.  The games will also be streamed with live video and stats at   

The winner of the Kingsport Bracket will advance to the 2018 Avista-NAIA World Series in Lewiston, Idaho on May 25-June 1. For more information about the World Series visit

Kingsport Bracket Opening Round Teams
The No. 1 seed is Southeastern University (51-1) from Lakeland, Florida.  They are ranked No. 4 in the NAIA Coaches Poll and received an at-large bid to the Opening Round after losing in the championship game of the Sun Conference Tournament Championship game. The Fire is making their fourth national tournament appearance and a return trip from last season to the Opening Round.

Tennessee Wesleyan University (37-19) from Athens, Tennessee is the No. 2 seed and the No. 19 team in the nation. The Bulldogs were the Appalachian Conference Tournament runner-up and making their tenth national tournament appearance.

No. 3 Madonna University (36-16) from Livonia, Michigan won their Wolverine-Hoosier Conference Tournament. It is the sixth appearance to the national tournament for the Crusaders.

Clarke University (35-21-1) from Dubuque, Iowa is the No. 4 seed. They advance to the Opening Round as the Heart of America Conference Tournament Champions. The Pride has been to the national tournament twice in the past.

Trinity Christian College (34-21) from Palos Heights, Illinois is the No. 5 seed and making their second trip to the Opening Round with their last appearance in 2013. The Trolls made history by claiming the program’s first Chicagoland Collegiate Conference Tournament title.